UACES Facebook Arkansas winter production meetings scheduled
skip to main content

Arkansas winter production meetings scheduled

Nov. 3, 2023

By Mary Hightower
U of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture

Fast facts:

  • Arkansas winter production meetings run Jan.-Feb.
  • 26 winter production meetings scheduled

(341 words)

LITTLE ROCK — Agronomy and agricultural economics are among the topics on the agenda for the 2024 winter production meetings in Arkansas for corn, cotton, rice and soybeans.

Jeremy Ross speaking at a winter production meeting
THAT TIME OF YEAR AGAIN — Jeremy Ross, extension soybean agronomist for the Division of Agriculture, will be one of several researchers and agronomists traveling across the state this winter to speak to growers and consultants about current findings and recommendations. (Division of Agriculture photo.)

“These are opportunities that give farmers a chance to improve on the previous year’s crop with face-to-face meetings with extension agronomists and agricultural economists and other experts from the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture,” said Jerry Clemons, who oversees the 25-county Delta District for the Cooperative Extension Service in the Division of Agriculture.

Meetings about peanut production will be scheduled at a later date, Clemons said.

Here is this year’s schedule. Be sure to contact your county office for detailed location, start times and agenda. Note that some areas will have multiple meetings for different commodities.


Jan. 8 — MORRILTON — River Valley                                             corn, soybeans

Jan. 10 — TEXARKANA — Southwest Arkansas Tri-County
                                 (Miller, Little River, Lafayette counties)        rice, soybeans, corn   

Jan. 23 — WEINER — Poinsett and Craighead counties             rice, soybeans      

Jan. 29 — MARIANNA  — Lee and Phillips counties                    rice, soybeans



Feb. 6 — EUDORA — Ashley and Chicot counties                        rice, soybeans

Feb. 6 — RECTOR — Clay and Greene counties                           corn, cotton

Feb. 7 — SEARCY — White County                                                  rice, soybeans, corn

Feb. 9 — PINE BLUFF — Jefferson County                                     rice, soybean, corn     


Feb. 12 — TBD —  Lonoke, Prairie, Pulaski  counties                   rice, soybeans

Feb. 12 — JONESBORO — Craighead and Poinsett counties       corn, cotton                 

Feb. 13 — BEECH GROVE — Greene County (morning)                rice, soybeans

Feb. 13 — CORNING — Clay County (afternoon)                            rice, soybeans


Feb. 13 — McGEHEE — Southeast Arkansas                                   corn, cotton

Feb. 14 — WALNUT RIDGE — Lawrence, Randolph counties       rice, soybeans, corn

Feb. 15 — BLYTHEVILLE — Mississippi County                               rice, soybeans

Feb. 15 — MARIANNA — Lee, Phillips, Monroe, St. Francis           corn, cotton


Feb. 16 — STUTTGART — Arkansas County                                    rice, soybeans, corn

Feb. 20  — DUMAS —Drew, Desha, Lincoln counties                    rice, soybeans

Feb. 21 — ARKADELPHIA — Clark County                                       rice, soybeans, corn

Feb. 22 — WEST MEMPHIS — Crittenden County                          rice, soybeans


Feb. 23 — WYNNE — Cross County                                                  rice, soybeans, corn  

Feb. 26 — NEWPORT — Jackson, Independence counties           rice, soybeans, corn

Feb. 27 — McCORY — Woodruff County                                         rice, soybeans, corn    

Feb. 28 — BLYTHEVILLE — Mississippi County                              corn, cotton    


Feb. 28 — MORRILTON — River Valley                                            rice

Feb. 29 — FORREST CITY — St. Francis, Monroe counties           rice, soybeans


To learn about extension programs in Arkansas, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent or visit Follow us on X and Instagram at @AR_Extension. To learn more about Division of Agriculture research, visit the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station website: Follow on X at @ArkAgResearch. To learn more about the Division of Agriculture, visit Follow us on X at @AgInArk.

About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs and services without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

# # #