UACES Facebook Janet B. Carson Master Gardener Scholarship available for high school seniors  
skip to main content

March 4, 2022

Janet B. Carson Master Gardener Scholarship available for high school seniors  

By Rebekah Hall
U of A System Division of Agriculture 

Fast Facts:

  • $1,000 scholarship available for high school seniors who will attend Arkansas colleges or universities
  • Applicants must be planning to major in a plant science related field
  • Deadline to apply is March 10, 2022

(360 words)

LITTLE ROCK — As Arkansas high school seniors finalize plans for secondary education this spring, those interested in pursuing plant science degrees may benefit from a scholarship opportunity available through the Arkansas Master Gardener Program.

SUPPORTING FUTURE GENERATIONS — The Janet B. Carson Master Gardener Scholarship is named for noted extension horticulturist Janet Carson, who served the Cooperative Extension Service for nearly four decades. The scholarship is available to high school seniors planning to study horticulture at an Arkansas university. (Division of Agriculture photo.)

The Janet B. Carson Master Gardener Scholarship is available to high school seniors who plan to attend an Arkansas college or university and major in a plant science-related field. Areas of study can include, but are not limited to, horticulture, botany, agronomy, forestry, plant science, turf management and landscape architecture and design.

“Whether creating and maintaining greenspaces for public enjoyment or producing healthy, fresh food for the masses, plant science careers are rewarding and enjoyable,” said Krista Quinn, Faulkner County extension agriculture agent. “With this scholarship, we hope to encourage and support the next generation of plant science professionals in Arkansas.”

The $1,000 scholarship, first established in 2014, is funded by Master Gardeners. Berni Kurz, extension educator of consumer horticulture and coordinator of the Master Gardeners program, said members want to support the future of plant sciences by providing this opportunity to Arkansas students.

“Master Gardeners are driving this program, and they are very passionate about providing funds to youth to further their education in plant sciences,” Kurz said.

Patsy Louk, chair of the County 76 scholarship committee – the statewide advisory group for the Master Gardeners program – said Janet Carson, the scholarship’s namesake, is a longtime advocate for horticulture education.

“Janet Carson spent 38 years as an extension employee, sharing her horticulture knowledge and love of gardening with many, old and young,” Louk said. “Even in retirement, she continues to do this through her blog, newspaper articles and speaking to groups across the state. She encourages all of us to start small and easy with plants that we like.”

The deadline to apply is March 10, 2022, and the scholarship application is available on the Arkansas Master Gardener Program website at The scholarship requires applicants to submit two letters of recommendation and a short statement about their career goals, along with their high school transcript and ACT (or equivalent) scores. Applicants should email completed applications to For more information, contact your county extension agent.

To learn about extension programs in Arkansas, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent or visit Follow us on Twitter and Instagram at @AR_Extension. To learn more about Division of Agriculture research, visit the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station website: Follow on Twitter at @ArkAgResearch. To learn more about the Division of Agriculture, visit Follow us on Twitter at @AgInArk.

About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system. 

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.  

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs to all eligible persons without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

# # #

Media contact:
Rebekah Hall