UACES Facebook Food scientist Hettiarachchy named Fellow of American Oil Chemists' Society e Title
skip to main content

Dec. 20, 2021

Food scientist Hettiarachchy named Fellow of American Oil Chemists' Society

By Robby Edwards
Director of Communications
Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences


Fast facts

  • Navam Hettiarachchy, Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station researcher, named Fellow of American Oil Chemist’s Society
  • Hettiarachchy’s latest research includes research on 3-D printing of plant proteins

Download MS Word version

Related PHOTOs: and

(333 words)

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Navam Hettiarachchy, a professor and researcher with the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station, has been named a Fellow of the American Oil Chemists' Society (AOCS).

FOOD RESEARCHER HONORED — Navam Hettiarachchy, left, was recently named a 2022 Fellow of the American Oil Chemists' Society. She is seen here with Ronny Horax in 2016 working on development of a frozen ice cream-like dessert from edamame soybeans. (Division of Agriculture photo).

The AOCS advances the science and technology of oils, fats, proteins, surfactants, and related materials. The experiment station is the research arm of the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture.

Hettiarachchy’s current research includes improvements on 3-D printing of plant proteins, enriched edible films and healthy food products. She is also professor of protein chemistry in the University of Arkansas department of food science in the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences.

To be considered for the AOCS fellowship, candidates must have at least 15 years of continuous membership in the organization and make “exceptional achievements in science and/or exceptionally important service to the society or profession, including areas of research, industrial achievement, leadership, education, administration, communication, or regulatory affairs.”

Hettiarachchy will be presented a plaque and Fellow medal during the 2022 AOCS Annual Meeting and Expo that will be held in Atlanta, Georgia, in May.

Hettiarachchy is also a Fellow of the Institute of Food Technologists and the International Academy of Food Science and Technology.

She is a past president of IFT-American Association of Food Scientists for the Indian Subcontinent, served as poster competition chair and is on the advisory board. Hettiarachchy is also a director of IFT's Phi Tau Sigma Honor Society and serves on the awards committee. Her leadership has led to many Bumpers College IFT student experiences, including first places in national product development contests as well as 11 regional champions and two national champions at IFT college bowl competitions.

Hettiarachchy is also a resource professor to the Asian Productivity Organization, sponsored by Japan, and has trained professors and scientists in food science and value addition to agriculture for participants from 17 countries multiple times.

To learn more about Division of Agriculture research, visit the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station website: Follow us on Twitter at @ArkAgResearch and Instagram at @ArkAgResearch.

About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs and services without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.


Media Contact: John Lovett
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station
(479) 763-5929