UACES Facebook Arkansas Association of Grape Growers to meet in Fayetteville for 2019 conference
skip to main content

Arkansas Association of Grape Growers to meet in Fayetteville for 2019 conference

By Abbi Ross
U of A System Division of Agriculture

Fast Facts:

  • First time the AAGG Conference will meet in Fayetteville
  • Division of Agriculture scientists will present research
  • Registration deadline for the event is Oct. 21

(438 words)

Download MS Word version 

Download related PHOTO:

Download related PHOTO from Flickr:

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Diversifying vineyards for hops production and wines made from Arkansas grapes will be among the topics presented at the Arkansas Association of Grape Growers 2019 Conference, Trade Show and Reception on Nov. 1.

Grape Workshop and Field Day
ALL ABOUT GRAPES -- Dr. John R. Clark describes grape and muscadine breeding to participants in the "Grapes of Arkansas Workshop and Field Day" in 2016. (UA System Division of Agriculture file photo by Fred Miller)

The conference will be held from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. at the Don Tyson Center for Agricultural Sciences at the Milo J. Shult Agricultural Research and Extension Center on Garland Avenue in Fayetteville.

Presentations will be held throughout the day including five from University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture scientists and specialists.

A reception featuring Arkansas wines, including wines made from grapes developed by the Division of Agriculture fruit breeding program, will begin at 4:30 p.m. Renee Threlfall, a research scientist in the division’s food science department, will discuss her research on some of the wines served, she said.

“We are excited to share with attendees the insights on potential Division of Agriculture wine grape selections,” Threlfall said.

John Clark, Distinguished Professor of Horticulture and Division of Agriculture fruit breeder, will talk about how the wine grape plants perform in Arkansas growing conditions, Threlfall said.

Other Division of Agriculture presenters includes Amanda McWhirt, fruit and vegetable extension specialist; Jackie Lee, director of the Fruit Research Station; and horticulture professor Elena Garcia.

Garcia will present “The Potential for High Tunnel Grape Production in Arkansas.” McWhirt, Lee and Threlfall will present “Diversifying Vineyards for Hops Production.”

The AAGG annual business meeting will also be held at the event and AAGG scholarship and achievement awards will be presented.

“This is the first time that the AAGG has ever met in Fayetteville, so we will be able to showcase the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station’s new Don Tyson Center for Agricultural Sciences building,” Threlfall said.

Registration costs $50 for AAGG members and University of Arkansas System employees and students. The fee is $100 for nonmembers. The registration and payment deadline for the event is Oct. 21. Registration forms can be found online at

For check payments, mail checks and registration forms to AAGG/Conference, PO Box 104, Altus, AR 72821. For credit card payment, pay on the AAGG website by clicking “Online Payments” and then mail the registration form to AAGG or email the registration form to If registering multiple attendees, email a list of names to AAGG.

For more information contact Renee Threlfall at

To learn more about Division of Agriculture research, visit the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station website: Follow us on Twitter at @ArkAgResearch and Instagram at ArkAgResearch.

To learn about Extension Programs in Arkansas, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent or visit Follow us on Twitter at @UAEX_edu.


About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs to all eligible persons without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

Media Contact: Fred Miller
U of A Division of Agriculture
Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station
(479) 575-5647

Related Links