UACES Facebook Bumpers College graduate students earn CAST scholarships for science communication
skip to main content

Bumpers College graduate students earn CAST scholarships for science communication

By Robby Edwards, Director of Communications
Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences

Fast Facts:

  • 10 graduate students earned CAST scholarships for science communications
  • CAST — Council for Agricultural Science and Technology
  • CAST represents science societies and scientists from public and private institutions

(280 words)

Download MS Word version 

Download related PHOTO:

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Ten graduate students from the University of Arkansas' Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences have earned scholarships from the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology.

2019 CAST Annual Meeting
TALKING SCIENCE — CAST Science Communication Scholarship recipient are, first row from left, Juanita Gil Bedoya, Pauline Morin, Angela Tacinelli, Rebecca Bruce and Andrea Sierra Mejia. Second row, Kathryn Haydon, Annegret Jannasch, Thadeus Beekman, Zephania Odek and Derrick Harrison. (UA System Division of Agriculture photo by Fred Miller)

All 10, including seven doctoral students and three master's degree students, are receiving the CAST Science Communication Scholarship.

The recipients are food science doctoral students Thadeus Beekman, Rebecca Bruce, Zephania Odek and Angela Tacinelli; plant science doctoral students Andrea Sierra Mejia and Kathryn Haydon; and agricultural, food and life science doctoral student Juanita Gil Bedoya.

Master's degree recipients are Annegret Jannasch and Pauline Morin in food science; and Derrick Harrison in crop, soil and environmental sciences.

The scholarship is to encourage students researching agriculture-related topics to engage with nonscientists through creative digital communication. All 10 submitted either a short video, podcast or infographic explaining a story about or an aspect of their research. See their submissions here.

The group was recognized Wednesday at the CAST annual meeting, held at the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s Don Tyson Center for Agricultural Sciences in Fayetteville.

The Council for Agricultural Science and Technology, the science source for food, agricultural and environmental issues, assembles, interprets and communicates credible, balanced, science-based information to policymakers, the media, the private sector and the public. The council was established in 1972 as the result of a meeting sponsored by the National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council.

To learn more about Division of Agriculture research, visit the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station website: Follow us on Twitter at @ArkAgResearch and Instagram at ArkAgResearch.

To learn about Extension Programs in Arkansas, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent or visit Follow us on Twitter at @UAEX_edu.


About the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences: Bumpers College provides life-changing opportunities to position and prepare graduates who will be leaders in the businesses associated with foods, family, the environment, agriculture, sustainability and human quality of life; and who will be first-choice candidates of employers looking for leaders, innovators, policy makers and entrepreneurs. The college is named for Dale Bumpers, former Arkansas governor and longtime U.S. senator who made the state prominent in national and international agriculture. For more information about Bumpers College, visit our website, and follow us on Twitter at @BumpersCollege and Instagram at BumpersCollege.

About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs to all eligible persons without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

Media Contact: Fred Miller
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station
(479) 575-5647