UACES Facebook Thirty-two 4-H’ers head to Atlanta for National 4-H Congress in Atlanta
skip to main content

Thirty-two 4-H’ers head to Atlanta for National 4-H Congress

By Tracy Courage

U of A System Division of Agriculture
Nov. 27, 2019 

Fast facts

  • 32 Arkansas 4-H state record book winners head to National 4-H Congress in Atlanta
  • Arkansas teens spend holiday break learning, networking with 4-H’ers across the U.S. 

(363 words)
(Download this story in MS Word format here.)

LITTLE ROCK – Thirty-two Arkansas 4-H state record book winners will be spending their Thanksgiving break in Atlanta at the National 4-H Congress, the premier leadership event for senior 4-H’ers. 


The group will leave by bus from Little Rock at 6:30 a.m. Friday, Nov. 29. Additional youth will be picked up in West Memphis, Arkansas.

In Atlanta, the youth will join teens from all over the United States for the 99th national 4-H Congress. This year’s conference theme is “Go Beyond” and focuses on leadership, citizenship, global awareness and inclusion. The teens also will participate in a day of service in Atlanta.

“The program is designed to help youth continue their development as the leaders of this millennium,” said Angie Freel, interim associate department head for 4-H, who will be accompanying the group. “All of our delegates are state record book winners and are among our best and brightest young people.”

During the five-day conference, the youth will attend educational workshops and service-learning events. They will also hear noted speakers, including U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue. 

Highlights of the trip will include visits to the Atlanta Zoo, CNN studios, Coca Cola headquarters, Martin Luther King, Jr., Visitor Center and the Georgia Aquarium.

Funding for the trip is provided by the 4-H Foundation.

Delegates include the following:

Ashley County — Phebe Dawson|
Baxter County – Chase Blum
Benton County — Paige Barrett, Faith Fritch, Hannah Jackson, Jacob Jarding, Maddie Mitchell, Megan Pigeon, Morgen Puryear, Calvin Snyder, Destiny Wilson and volunteer Shannon Mitchell
Clark County — Tyler Thompson
Cleburne County — Stephen Wilson
Conway County — Victoria Lehmann
Faulkner County — Alex Wilson
Green County — Olivia Gardner
Hot Spring County — Eva Berryhill
Howard County — Abbie Lamb, Nicholas Trombley and volunteer Jim Lamb
Independence County — Natasha Hightower
Lonoke County — Clayton Stark
Madison County — Shelby White
Miller County — Kyleen Hewitt
Mississippi County — Macie Smith
Pope County — Jelaina Payton
Sebastian County — Olivia Branum, Emily Dunn and Taylor Looper
Sevier County — Brennen Seymour
Washington County — Casey Burden and Nealie Den Herder
White County — Savannah Watkins 

To learn more about the 4-H Youth Development program and other extension programs in Arkansas, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent or visit Follow us on Twitter at @UAEX_edu.


About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs and services without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

# # #


Media Contact: Tracy Courage
Dir. of Communication Services
U of A Division of Agriculture
Cooperative Extension Service