UACES Facebook Hundreds expected on Fayetteville campus for 2019 Arkansas 4-H State O-Rama
skip to main content

Hundreds expected on Fayetteville campus for 2019 Arkansas 4-H State O-Rama

By Mary Hightower
U of A System Division of Agriculture 

Fast facts

  • O-Rama represents highest level of competition
  • Donors to be recognized
  • Governor’s Award winner to be announced

(462 words)

Download MS Word version 

(Newsrooms: with file art here:

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Ready. Set. Ignite! Hundreds of 4-H members from across Arkansas will be on the Fayetteville campus this week for State O-Rama, a week of competition, inspiration and recognition.

State O-Rama 2018
FLOOD OF GREEN -- Hundreds of Arkansas youth will descend on the University of Arkansas campus this week for the annual State O-Rama. (UA System Division of Agriculture photo by Fred Miller)

“This year’s State O-Rama  theme is ‘Ignite.’ The event gives our youth a chance to compete at the highest level and gives the 4-H program an opportunity to recognize our youth and the donors who support us,” said Angie Freel, interim associate department head for 4-H. “It’s also an exciting time as we elect and install new state officers and announce the winner of our highest honor, the Governor’s Award.” (See:  

4-H is the youth development program operated by the Cooperative Extension Service, part of the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture. 

State O-Rama begins July 23 and runs through July 26. Kyle Willkom, founder of Action Packed Leadership and author of two books on leadership, will provide the opening ceremony keynote on Tuesday, showing how his out-of-the-ordinary life experiences can be an example of how others can live their own action-packed lives.

On Wednesday, 4-H will recognize its donors, capped by a keynote by Deacue Fields, dean of the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences. Before joining the University of Arkansas System, Fields was chair of the Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology at Auburn University. 

Donna Graham, who last month was the named nation's Outstanding Agricultural Educator by the American Association for Agricultural Education, will be the speaker at Wednesday’s award ceremony. Graham holds the title of University Professor of Agricultural Education, Communication, and Technology in the Bumpers College. 

State O-Rama will also see the installation of new state 4-H officers: 

  • Eva Berryhill, Ouachita District vice president from Hot Spring County.
  • Cody Ogden, Ozark District vice president from Madison County.
  • Noralee Townsend, Delta District vice president from White County.

The president and other officers will be elected from candidates campaigning during state O-Rama. 

To learn more about Division of Agriculture research, visit the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station website: Follow us on Twitter at @ArkAgResearchand Instagram at ArkAgResearch.


About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs to all eligible persons without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

Media Contact: Mary Hightower
Dir. of Communication Services
U of A Division of Agriculture
Cooperative Extension Service
(501) 671-2126

Related Links