UACES Facebook Arkansas 4-H youth share in $30,000+ in scholarships
skip to main content

Arkansas 4-H youth share in $30,000+ in scholarships

The Arkansas 4-H Foundation recently awarded $32,900 in college scholarships to 28 high school seniors in 17 counties.

May 21, 2021 

By Tracy Courage 
U of A System Division of Agriculture

Fast Facts:

  • Arkansas 4-H awards $32,900 in college scholarships
  • 28 Arkansas 4-H members from 17 counties receive scholarships

(415 words)

LITTLE ROCK — Arkansas 4-H youth will head to college this fall with a little less financial strain thanks to 4-H college scholarships.

The Arkansas 4-H Foundation recently awarded $32,900 in college scholarships to 28 high school seniors in 17 counties.

“The 2021 Arkansas 4-H scholarship recipients should be very proud of the accomplishments they have made throughout their 4-H careers. The scholarship application process is highly competitive,” said Angie Freel, associate department head, 4-H and Youth development for the Cooperative Extension Service and the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture.

“We are so thankful for the existing 4-H Foundation endowments and our community and association partners who consistently give each year to sponsor these important scholarships to educational institutions of higher learning,” she said. “Without them, we wouldn’t be able to offer these opportunities.” 

This year’s scholarship recipients are:

  • Ada/Tyrell Anderson Scholarship ($6,000) — Matthew Teague, Washington County
  • Robert and Betty Oliver ($4,000) — Eva Berryhill, Hot Spring County
  • Farm Credit of Western Arkansas Scholarship ($1,000 each)
    • Aaron Mahan of Madison County
    • Zarah Dean of Franklin County
  • C.A. and Joye Vines Scholarship ($1,000) — Molly Gaskin, White County
  • Dennis Millard Memorial Scholarships ($1,000) — Katee Johnson, Hot Spring County
  • Fayetteville Rotary/Dale Killian ($1,000) — Nealie Den Herder of Washington County
  • Gladys Klepfer/Bo and Peggy Cobb Scholarships:
    • Victoria Puckett ($1,000), Faulkner County
    • Faith Fritch ($500), Benton County
    • Xander Adams ($500), Clark County
  • John W. White Award ($1,000) — Molly Parker, Hempstead County
  • Zack/Jennie Jennings ($1,000) — Tania Kelley, Pulaski County
  • Oaklawn Jockey Club ($625 each)
    • Rebecca Thomas, Clark County
    • Karlie Lindsay, Benton County
    • James Hewitt, Miller County
    • Katie Boone, White County
  • Larry Sandage Arkansas Forage & Grassland Council ($500) — Alyssa Butler, Lonoke County
  • Raymond Cox ($500)
    • Aubrey Seymour, Sevier County
    • Kaitlyn Watson, Calhoun County
  • Maeda Asbell ($400) — Jonathan Cline, Crawford County
  • Arkansas 4-H License Plate Scholarship ($1,000)
    • Emily Dunn, Sebastian County
    • Matthew Exum, Greene County
    • Mary Pruitt, White County
  • Governor’s Award Nominees ($2,000 to winner)
    • Eva Berryhill, Hot Spring County
    • Jenna Frederick, Sebastian County
    • Faith Fritch, Benton County
    • Sarah Gaskin, White County
  • Raydus Ree and Virginia Williams James 4-H Scholarship ($1,000): Meredith Holman, Franklin County.

Arkansas 4-H is the youth development program conducted by the University of Arkansas System, Division of Agriculture, Cooperative Extension Service and offers programs for youth ages 5-19 in every county in Arkansas.

The Arkansas 4-H Foundation is a non-profit dedicated to supporting Arkansas 4-H youth since 1951. To learn more, visit

To learn about Arkansas 4-H, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent or visit, or visit Arkansas 4-H online at

About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs and services without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

# # #

Media contact:

Tracy Courage