UACES Facebook 4-H, FFA sisters supply the star for governor’s Arkansas Turkey Week proclamation
skip to main content

4-H, FFA sisters supply the star for governor’s Arkansas Turkey Week proclamation

By Ryan McGeeney
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Nov. 19, 2018

Fast Facts:

(217 words)
(Download this story in MS Word format here.)

LITTLE ROCK – For the second year in a row, one family has managed to represent both 4-H and the Future Farmers of America at the Arkansas Turkey Week Proclamation signing at the State Capitol.


While not every public reading of a signed proclamation has a star, Nellie — a turkey raised by sisters Victoria and Kristin Lehmann — was clearly the center of attention Monday morning as Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson read the proclamation.

The Lehmann sisters are both members of Conway County 4-H’s Nemo Vista Pioneers Club, as well as the Nemo Vista FFA chapter.

In 2017, the sisters brought Penny, also a turkey, for the Arkansas Turkey Week Proclamation reading.

Arkansas Turkey Week is meant to promote awareness of Arkansas poultry production, which makes up about half of all cash receipts in the state’s $21 billion agriculture industry. According to the proclamation, Arkansas produces about 26 million turkeys each year, supporting more than 14,000 jobs and adding about $341 million in value to the Arkansas economy.

Other speakers at the event included Wes Ward, Arkansas Secretary of Agriculture, and Marvin Childers, president of the Poultry Federation.

Photos from the reading can be seen at

To learn about poultry in Arkansas, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent or visit Follow us on Twitter at @UAEX_edu


About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.  

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.   

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs to all eligible persons without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

# # #


Media Contact: Ryan McGeeney
Communication Services
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Cooperative Extension Service
(501) 671-2120