UACES Facebook AEHC: 26 Homemakers recognized for 50, 60, and 70+ years of membership and service
skip to main content

AEHC: 26 Homemakers recognized for 50, 60, 70+ years' service

June 15, 2018 

By Jessica Wesson
U of A System Division of Agriculture

Fast Facts

  • 26 Arkansas Extension Homemakers were recognized for being Milestone Members
  • AEHC is one of the largest nonprofit volunteer groups in the state 

(350 words)
(Download this story in MS Word format here.)

HOT SPRINGS, Ark. — The Arkansas Extension Homemakers Council honored several long-standing members for 50, 60, and 70 years or more of outstanding service at the Annual State Meeting. 

IMG_7170Laura Hendrix, AEHC state adviser and associate professor for the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture, said that these members are very deserving of these awards. 

“It is a testimony to the merit of the organization that these members devote so many years of their lives to AEHC,” she said. “AEHC is significant in the lives of members as they remain connected to their clubs and contributing to thriving communities throughout a lifetime.”

There were 26 members recognized for years of membership and dedication: 

50-plus years:

  • Sue Burgess, Ashley County
  • Paula Dailey, Jefferson County
  • Edith Eagle, Lincoln County
  • Helen Edwards, Lincoln County
  • Esta Kealer, Jefferson County
  • Tharon Yandell, Ashley County
  • Dorothy George, Miller County
  • Maxine Holman, Polk County
  • Juanita Nutt, Perry County
  • Georgia Smith, Bradley County
  • Barbara Sutton, Miller County
  • Betty Sutton, Miller County
  • Mary Ann Patterson, Benton County
  • Rosa Thomas, Carroll County
  • Ann Shaw, Conway County
  • Mavon Grissom, Franklin County
  • Betty Carol Obenshain, Madison County
  • Rose Villines, Madison County

60-plus years:

  • Sarah Dacus, Craighead County
  • Hazel Denton, Ashley County
  • Doris Banta, Montgomery County
  • Pat Keenen, Benton County

70-plus years:

  • June Hollis, Ashley County
  • Marie Price, Prairie County
  • Dorothy Leelman, Boone County
  • Millie Peters, Benton County

Rick Cartwright, head of the Cooperative Extension Service, presented the awards during the Annual State Meeting. 

“We deeply admire the dedication and fortitude of the EHC Milestone Members,” he said. “These volunteers show an almost unbelievable commitment to doing good and helping others, and offer a superlative example of the excellence of the EHC, one of the largest volunteer groups in the state.  Truly amazing and mighty people.” 

EHC is one of the largest nonprofit volunteer organizations in Arkansas, with over 300 clubs and 4,000 members statewide. EHC’s mission is to “empower individuals and families to improve their lives through continuing education, leadership development, and community service.” EHC works with the Extension to provide education in health, wellness, nutrition, personal finance, and personal development.

To learn more about the Arkansas Extension Homemakers Council, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service agent, or visit


About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system. 

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses. 

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs to all eligible persons without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer. 

# # #


Media Contact: Ryan McGeeney
Communication Services
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Cooperative Extension Service
(501) 671-2120