UACES Facebook Three January dates set for new produce safety rule training sessions
skip to main content

Three January dates set for new produce safety rule training sessions

By Mary Hightower
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Dec. 19, 2017 

Fast facts

  • Extension Service to help growers to understand, comply with new produce safety rules
  • Three training sessions scheduled for January
  • Produce Safety rule trainings to be held in Monticello, Hope, Forrest City

 (170 words)

LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas fruit and vegetable growers will have three opportunities in January to attend training to comply with the new produce safety rule under Food Safety Modernization Act. 

The act, known as FSMA, meant to strengthen safeguards in the U.S. food supply. The Cooperative Extension Service, part of the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture, will be helping Arkansas farmers obtain needed certification. The training is conducted by Amanda Perez, DrPh, assistant professor for Agriculture and Natural Resources, for the Division of Agriculture. 

Training locations and dates are listed below. Participants must register in advance to attend one of these workshops.

  • Jan. 9 - MONTICELLO at UA-Monticello
  • Jan. 16 - HOPE at SW Research and Extension Center
  • Jan. 23 - FORREST CITY at Forrest City Civic Center 

A survey is available to help producers and processors determine how their farms will be affected by the Produce Safety Rule. Visit the website to complete the survey or for more information about the Produce Safety Rule, contact Amanda Perez at  


About the Division of Agriculture

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture’s mission is to strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices. Through the Agricultural Experiment Station and the Cooperative Extension Service, the Division of Agriculture conducts research and extension work within the nation’s historic land grant education system.  

The Division of Agriculture is one of 20 entities within the University of Arkansas System. It has offices in all 75 counties in Arkansas and faculty on five system campuses.   

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs and services without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.   



Media Contact: Mary Hightower
Dir. of Communication Services
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Cooperative Extension Service
(501) 671-2126

Related Links