UACES Facebook NAP Changes in 2016 for 2015 Crop Year
skip to main content

NAP Changes in 2016 for 2015 Crop Year

By Carol Sanders
U of A System Division of Agriculture
Jan. 8, 2016

Fast Facts:

  • Changes to Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program now in effect
  • Changes include fee waivers and premium reductions
  • FSA agents available to assist growers 

(470 words) 

PINE BLUFF, Ark. – Important changes to the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) made by the Agriculture Act of 2014 for the 2015 crop year took effect the first of the year. 

Professor Henry English, head of the Small Farm Program at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (UAPB) reminds growers of perhaps the most significant change – the Buy-Up Coverage Option. NAP coverage is now available at 50, 55, 60 and 65 percent of a farmer’s approved yield and 100 percent of the average market price, instead of only the basic coverage of 50 percent of the yield and 55 percent of the average market price, English said.

Of importance to certain growers are NAP fee waivers and premium reductions. Basic NAP coverage is now free to all farmers who qualify as beginning, limited resource or socially disadvantaged. Socially disadvantaged now includes women, he said. 

Previously, only limited resource farmers were eligible for fee waivers or premium reductions. Farmers in these categories are also eligible for a 50 percent reduction in NAP Buy-Up Coverage premiums. To be eligible, farmers must certify their status when applying for coverage at their Farm Service Agency (FSA) office. 

NAP service fees will continue to be $250 per crop per county, up to $750 per farm per county or $1,875 per farmer. However, farmers who choose the Buy-Up Coverage must pay an additional premium of 5.25 percent of the maximum NAP coverage for the crop. 

To get an idea of premiums, growers can use the NAP Crop Tool at For help in using the tool, growers can contact their local FSA office, or in certain areas, their local UAPB Extension associate: 

Alex Cole (870) 630-2005, – St. Francis, Crittenden, Cross, Woodruff, Jackson and Mississippi counties 

Arlanda Jacobs, (870) 714-5531, – Lee, Phillips, Monroe and Arkansas counties 

Travis Collins, (870) 355-7007, – Chicot, Desha and Drew counties 

Kandi Williams, (870) 903-8663, – Hempstead, Howard, Little River, Sevier and Miller counties 

Stephan Walker, multi-county agent, (870) 575-7237, – Jefferson, Lincoln, Desha, Pulaski and Lonoke counties

Growers of hand-harvested crops must report losses within 72 hours of harvest if harvest is complete, or when damage is first apparent and file a written notice within 15 calendar days. This is to allow the U.S. Department of Agriculture to conduct an accurate inspection of crops that may deteriorate rapidly, English said. 

Producers should not destroy the crop until a loss adjuster inspects the loss. If the crop is plowed under, the grower will not be eligible for compensation, English said. 

Other changes include an increase in the maximum NAP payment to $125,000 up from $100,000, and the change in the farmer adjusted gross income (AGI) eligibility to a simple $900,000 for each person or entity. 

For more information or to report any losses, contact your local FSA office.


The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture offers all its Extension and Research programs and services without regard to race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.  

# # #


Media Contact: Mary Hightower
Dir. of Communication Services
U of A Division of Agriculture
Cooperative Extension Service
(501) 671-2126

Related Links