UACES Facebook Sugarcane aphids expand in Arkansas; confirmed in 21 counties
skip to main content

Sugarcane aphids confirmed in 21 Ark. counties

Fast Facts: 

    •     Sugarcane aphids confirmed in 21 counties 
    •     Aphids problematic for sorghum growers 

(222 words) 

(Newsrooms: SUBS 4th graf to add Drew County, previously omitted from list)
MONTICELLO, Ark. – Sugarcane aphids are being found through most of the Arkansas Delta, surrounding Prairie County and extending to 21 counties statewide. 

The insects, which infest sorghum and can sometimes be found in Johnsongrass were confirmed in the three southeasternmost counties in late June.

sugarcane aphid dist 7.15.15
RED ZONE -- Sugarcane aphids expanded to 21 Arkansas counties by mid-July 2016. (U of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture image by Nick Seiter)

“Aphids are now confirmed in 21 counties,” said Nick Seiter, extension entomologist for the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture. 

The aphids have been reported as far north as Crittenden and White counties and as far west as Logan County in the Arkansas River Valley. The full list: Arkansas, Ashley, Chicot, Crittenden, Desha, Drew, Lee, Lincoln, Logan, Lonoke, Phillips, St. Francis and White counties. 

New to the list are Craighead, Cross, Jackson, Jefferson, Mississippi, Monroe, Poinsett, Pulaski, Woodruff. On Seiter’s latest map, Prairie County is an aphid-free island. 

Aphids exude honeydew that can grow black mold that inhibits photosynthesis on the leaves and the stickiness of the honeydew can gum up harvesting equipment. 

For more information about managing sugarcane aphids, contact your county extension office or visit www.uaex.uada.eduor . 

The Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service is an equal opportunity/equal access/affirmative action institution. If you require a reasonable accommodation to participate or need materials in another format, please contact your County Extension office (or other appropriate office) as soon as possible. Dial 711 for Arkansas Relay. 

The Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service offers its programs to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, age, disability, marital or veteran status, genetic information, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer. 

# # # 


Media Contact: Mary Hightower
Dir. of Communication Services
U of A Division of Agriculture
Cooperative Extension Service
(501) 671-2126

Related Links