ACAAA Constitution and Bylaws As Amended March 2007

Article 1. Name

This organization shall be known as the Arkansas County Agricultural Agents' Association.

Article 2. Objective

The objective of this association shall be to encourage mutual helpfulness among its members; to maintain the standard of excellence of the professionals who engage in the work; to uphold the teachings of the Division of Agriculture of the University of Arkansas and the Agricultural Experiment Stations; and to cooperate by making recommendations to the Extension Service regarding policies, to discourage the exploitation for political purpose or otherwise, the work of the extension professional in their effort to establish permanent systems of agriculture; and to cooperate in every way advisable with farm organizations in Arkansas.

Article 3. Membership

Any County Extension Agent, Area Specialist, or State Specialist having a majority of program responsibility in an agriculture related or natural resources position or holding an agriculture degree and working in an extension position may become a member of this organization by paying annual dues and agreeing to abide by the provisions of the constitution and by-laws of the Association.

Cooperative Extension Service Administrator may become associate members of the ACAAA by paying the membership dues. Administrators will be associate members only and will not have any voting privileges or be allowed to attend and participate in business meetings or Board meetings of the Association without the Board's approval. Administrators cannot hold any office or board position in the Association.

Questions of eligibility will be referred to the officers and board members. Their decision will be final.

Upon ceasing to hold one of the eligible positions with the Cooperative Extension Service of the University of Arkansas, the agent or Specialist shall automatically cease to be a member of this organization, except retiring members who become lifetime association members.

Article 4. Officers, Directors, and the Term of Office

Officers of this association shall be President, President Elect, Secretary and Treasurer. Each district shall nominate an eligible member to fill the officer positions (Past President, President, President Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer) on a rotating basis. The Treasurer may be re-elected but may not serve more than three (3) one-year terms. No other officer shall be eligible to serve for more than one term in the same office. The order of this rotation shall begin as follows and be continued in the order indicated in 2007 and beyond:

	<u>Ozark</u>	<u>Ouachita</u>	<u>Delta</u>	Specialists
2007	Past President	President Elect	President	Secretary
2008	President Elect	President	Past President Secretary	Treasurer
2009	President	Past President Secretary	President Elect	Treasurer

2010	Past President	President Elect	President	Treasurer
	Secretary			
2011	President Elect	President	Past President	Treasurer
			Secretary	

Should a district fail to nominate a member to fill the officer position, that position would be filled from the membership at-large. The member elected would serve as that district's nominee and the rotation will not change.

Districts are composed of the geographic Extension Districts and a "District" composed of specialists. Each district shall elect two (2) board members and one alternate. When a district does not have an officer, that district's alternate would become the **third** board member for the district.

The President, President-Elect, Secretary and the Treasurer shall be elected at the annual meeting and shall hold office for one year, or until their successors are elected and qualified.

The term of office of the director shall be two (2) years. The terms shall be adjusted so that not more than half will retire each year.

Article 5. Election of Officers and Directors

Each year members from each district shall elect one member to a nominating committee. This committee shall select one member as chairman.

The nominating committee shall nominate one person for President, Past-President, Secretary, and Treasurer. Other persons may be nominated from the floor.

No district shall have more than one officer at any given time

On or before the annual meeting the members from each district shall elect a director or directors and report such election in writing to the Secretary. Each year retired agents may elect an exofficio member to the Board of Directors and report such election in writing to the Secretary. Election of officers shall be by voice vote, show of hands, or by ballot.

A candidate receiving a majority of all votes cast shall be declared elected.

A vacancy of any elected officer or member of the Board of Directors shall be filled by a majority vote of the Board of Directors. The appointee shall hold office until his successor is elected at the next annual meeting.

Article 6. Duties of Officers and Board of Directors

The duties of the President, President-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer shall be those that usually devolve upon such officers.

The President with the advice of the other members of the Board of Directors shall appoint the standing committees or other special committees that are deemed necessary.

The Board of Directors will have the power to transact all business of an emergency nature coming up during the year and to call special meetings when necessary.

All bills must be paid by the Treasurer on an order of the Board of Directors.

The officers and Board of Directors shall act as a program committee.

Article 7. Meetings

The annual meetings, special meetings or district meetings of the Association shall be at the time and place designated by the Board of Directors.

Regular meetings of the Board of Directors shall be held at the call of the President or a majority of the Board of Directors.

Article 8. Amendments

This Constitution may be amended upon a two-thirds vote of the members present at the annual meeting provided a notice of the intended changes or additions is sent to each member at least fifteen (15) days previous to the annual meeting.

By-Laws

Dues – The dues of this association shall be \$25 above the dues of the National Association. Dues are payable in the fall and must be submitted to the Treasurer of the association no later than December 1 to be active the following year.

- Special assessments may be made by a majority vote of the members present at an annual meeting or special meeting or bay a majority of a referendum vote taken by the secretary of the association

Any member whose dues are delinquent over six months may be dropped from the rolls of this association, but may be reinstated upon payment of the delinquent dues.

Members who are paying dues through the credit union must adjust the monthly withdrawal amount to equal the total dues amount annually. Those who do not adjust the amount will be dropped from active status.

Quorum – The majority of the active members shall constitute a quorum in the annual or other meetings of the association. A majority of the Board of Directors shall constitute a quorum in any board meeting.

An audit committee shall be appointed by the President for auditing the books of the Treasurer once a year.

Indebtedness – No debts shall be contracted or liabilities incurred by the association in excess of the cash in the hands of the Treasurer.

An audit committee shall be appointed by the President for auditing the books of the Treasurer once a year.

The board of directors shall make the selection of the delegates and alternate delegates to the National Association of the County Agriculture Agents. Not more than one delegate per district may be selected unless the number of delegates exceeds the number of districts. The President shall be a delegate from his/her district.